Watch the complete final round and playoff broadcast of the 2017 Masters. Sergio Garcia defeats Justin Rose in a playoff to win his first major championship.
Sergio García’s Historic Victory at the 2017 Masters Tournament
The Masters Tournament is a golf event that needs no introduction in the world of sports.
In 2017, the 81st edition of this prestigious competition took place at the iconic Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia. Held from April 6th to April 9th, it was the opening act of golf’s four major championships for the year.
One of the most memorable moments in the tournament’s history unfolded during this edition when Sergio García, a name synonymous with golf excellence, emerged as the victor after a dramatic sudden-death playoff against Justin Rose.
The excitement peaked as both players completed the 72 holes with an impressive nine-under-par score.
For García, this triumph was particularly special as it marked his very first major championship win.
What made this victory even more compelling was that it came after 74 previous attempts in major tournaments.
Prior to this achievement, García had come close with 22 top-ten finishes in majors, including three at the Masters, where his best performance had been a tie for fourth place back in 2004.
His name now shines alongside the legends of the sport, and he proudly became the first Spaniard to don the coveted green jacket in eighteen years, following in the footsteps of José María Olazábal’s victory in 1999.
Par 3 Contest
Traditionally, the Par-3 contest held on the Wednesday preceding the main event is a fan favorite.
However, in 2017, history was made as heavy rainfall forced the cancellation of this beloved tradition for the first time ever.
Nevertheless, before play was suspended, Mike Weir managed to record the only hole-in-one, providing fans with a memorable moment despite the unfortunate weather conditions.
Rollercoaster of emotions
The final round of the 2017 Masters Tournament was nothing short of a rollercoaster of emotions.
Sergio García set the tone by birdying two of his first three holes, quickly establishing a three-shot lead.
However, the tides of the game shifted as Justin Rose came storming back, recording three consecutive birdies starting at the 6th hole.
With bogeys by García at the 10th and 11th, Rose surged ahead by two shots.
The 13th hole witnessed a pivotal moment as García was forced to take a drop after his tee shot found the trees.
Yet, he displayed resilience, managing to get up and down to save par, while Rose missed his birdie attempt.
García’s momentum continued as he birdied the 14th hole, narrowing the gap to just one stroke. He then showcased his skill on the par-5 15th, hitting an approach shot to a mere fourteen feet and converting it for an eagle. Rose also made birdie, resulting in yet another tie.
The excitement reached its peak on the par-3 16th hole as both García and Rose landed their approaches within eight feet of the pin.
Rose calmly made his birdie putt from 7 feet, while García shockingly missed a gimme three-footer.
The 17th hole added more drama to the mix as Rose found the greenside bunker and suffered a bogey, while García calmly two-putted for par, once again tying for the lead heading into the last hole.
The tension was palpable as Rose missed a seven-footer for birdie, and García missed a three-foot putt to win the championship, forcing a sudden-death playoff.
In the end, it was García who emerged victorious, securing his place in golfing history with his maiden major championship win.
Charl Schwartzel, the 2011 champion, claimed third place with a solid final round, while Thomas Pieters and Matt Kuchar tied for fourth place with impressive performances.
Notable players like Rickie Fowler and Jordan Spieth faced challenges during the final round, slipping down the leaderboard. Meanwhile, Charley Hoffman endured a tough back-nine, finishing tied for 22nd place.
An intriguing incident unfolded during García’s final round when he took a drop on the 13th hole.
Some TV viewers raised concerns that he may have caused his ball to move while removing pine straw near it.
However, Masters Officials concluded that there was no penalty, citing Rule 18-2 (Decision 18/4), which states that even if high-definition TV camera evidence shows movement, there is no penalty if the movement was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time.