Fore King Golf

Masters Champions


The Masters Tournament, one of professional golf’s most prestigious events, has been a fixture on the sports calendar since its inception in 1934.

Held annually at the renowned Augusta National Golf Club in Georgia, this tournament stands out from the other major championships due to its unique traditions and the picturesque setting.

The Masters Experience

The Masters Tournament is more than just a golf competition; it’s a week-long celebration of the sport.

Each year, it kicks off the golfing season and offers attendees a unique experience.

In addition to watching some of the world’s best golfers in action, visitors can enjoy social events such as parades, breathtaking fireworks displays, and live concerts, making it a true festival of golf.

Meticulous Greenkeeping at Augusta National:

Augusta National Golf Club, home to the prestigious Masters Tournament, is renowned for its immaculate golf course conditions.

The meticulous greenkeeping practices leading up to and during Masters Week are a testament to the club’s commitment to maintaining one of the world’s most iconic courses.

The Iconic Green Jacket Tradition

One of the most iconic traditions at The Masters is the presentation of the green jacket to the champion.

This tradition dates back to 1949 when Sam Snead received the first green jacket.

The champion not only gets to wear this prestigious garment during the ceremony but also becomes a part of the exclusive club of Masters champions.

However, there’s a twist—winners must return the jacket one year after their victory, allowing new champions to experience the honor.

Exceptions are made for reigning champions and first-time winners, who can keep their green jackets at the club.

The Masters Champions List (1934 to Present):

Now, let’s delve into the rich history of The Masters Tournament by listing each champion from its inception in 1934 up to the present day.

This comprehensive list will give you a glimpse of the legends who have conquered Augusta National and etched their names into golf history.

I have added an article about each tournament, so if you want to read more about each winner, simply click on their name and by the magic of clicking a link you’ll be able to read more

Listed below are each of the Masters Champions since the competition’s inception in 1934

Masters Champion 2020 to 2023

YearMasters ChampionScore
2023Jon Rahm276
2022Scottie Scheffler278
2021Hideki Matsuyama278
2020Dustin Johnson268

Masters Champion 2010 to 2019

YearMasters ChampionScore
2019Tiger Woods275
2018Patrick Reed273
2017Sergio Garcia279
2016Danny Willett283
2015Jordan Spieth270
2014Bubba Watson280
2013Adam Scott279
2012Bubba Watson278
2011Charl Schwartzel274
2010Phil Mickelson272

Masters Champion 2000 to 2009

YearMasters ChampionScore
2009Ángel Cabrera276
2008Trevor Immelman280
2007Zach Johnson289
2006Phil Mickelson281
2005Tiger Woods276
2004Phil Mickelson279
2003Mike Weir281
2002Tiger Woods276
2001Tiger Woods272
2000Vijay Singh278

Masters Champion 1990 to 1999

YearMasters ChampionScore
1999José María Olazábal280
1998Mark O’Meara279
1997Tiger Woods270
1996Nick Faldo276
1995Ben Crenshaw274
1994José María Olazábal279
1993Bernhard Langer277
1992Fred Couples275
1991Ian Woosnam277
1990Nick Faldo278

Masters Champion 1980 to 1989

YearMasters ChampionScore
1989Nick Faldo283
1988Sandy Lyle281
1987Larry Mize285
1986Jack Nicklaus279
1985Bernhard Langer282
1984Ben Crenshaw277
1983Seve Ballesteros280
1982Craig Stadler284
1981Tom Watson280
1980Seve Ballesteros275

Masters Champion 1970 to 1979

YearMasters ChampionScore
1979Fuzzy Zoeller280
1978Gary Player277
1977Tom Watson276
1976Raymond Floyd271
1975Jack Nicklaus276
1974Gary Player278
1973Tommy Aaron283
1972Jack Nicklaus286
1971Charles Coody279
1970Billy Casper279

Masters Champion 1960 to 1969

YearMasters ChampionScore
1969George Archer281
1968Bob Goalby277
1967Gay Brewer280
1966Jack Nicklaus288
1965Jack Nicklaus271
1964Arnold Palmer276
1963Jack Nicklaus286
1962Arnold Palmer280
1961Gary Player280
1960Arnold Palmer282

Masters Champion 1950 to 1959

YearMasters ChampionScore
1959Art Wall284
1958Arnold Palmer284
1957Doug Ford283
1956Jack Burke, Jr.289
1955Cary Middlecoff279
1954Sam Snead289
1953Ben Hogan274
1952Sam Snead286
1951Ben Hogan274
1950Jimmy Demaret283

Masters Champion 1940 to 1949

The Masters Competition was on hold during World War 2 (1943-1945)

YearMasters ChampionScore
1949Sam Snead282
1948Claude Harmon279
1947Jimmy Demaret281
1946Herman Keiser282
1942Byron Nelson280
1941Craig Wood280
1940Jimmy Demaret280

Masters Champion 1934 to 1939

Year Masters Champion Score
1939 Ralph Guldahl 279
1938 Henry Picard 285
1937 Byron Nelson 283
1936 Horton Smith 285
1935 Gene Sarazen 282
1934 Horton Smith 284


Steve King of Fore King Golf

Steve King

Steve King is a UK based golf blogger, who shares online golf coaching that he created with his good friend Richard Lawless (PGA Professional)

Steve plays most of his golf in his home county of Wiltshire, in the UK. Read more about Steve