The FedEx Cup Winners List (2007 to Present)


The FedEx Cup is a championship trophy for the PGA Tour. Unsurprising the competition is named after its sponsor: FedEx.

Who qualifies for the the FedEx Cup

Through the first part of the season, the “regular season” from October through August, PGA Tour players earn points in each event they play.

The number of points for winning each tournament varies from 250 to 600, depending on the quality of the field for each event, with the typical tournament awarding 500.

The goal is to be among the top 125 points leaders following the final event of the regular season.

At the end of the regular season, the top 125 players participate in the playoffs. Points won in playoff events are added to those for the regular season, and the fields are reduced as the playoffs proceed.

The number of points awarded for winning each playoff event is 2000, which is four times the amount awarded for a typical regular season tournament.

What Are The FedEx Cup Play Off Competitions

There are two play-offs competitions before the season ending tour Championship, during which the field is reduced, from 125 at The Northern Trust, to 70 at the BMW Championship and then to the final 30 for the Tour Championship

  • The Northern Trust
  • The BMW Championship
  • The Tour Championship

For the Tour Championship, only the top 30 points leaders after the BMW Championship are eligible.

If for any reason, a player among the top 30 does not compete in the Tour Championship, he will not be replaced.

Listed below are the Tour Champs and the Playoff Winners since 2019

YearThe Northern TrustBMW ChampionshipTour Championship
2021Tony FinauPatrick CantlayPatrick Cantlay
2020Dustin JohnsonJon RahmDustin Johnson
2019Patrick ReedJustin ThomasRory McIlroy

Previous to this there was also the Dell Technologies Championship which was removed from the schedule after the 2018 season

Listed below are the Playoff Winners. including the Dell Technologies

YearNorthern TrustDell Technologies ChampionshipBMW ChampionshipTour Championship
2018Bryson DeChambeauBryson DeChambeauKeegan BradleyTiger Woods
2017Dustin JohnsonJustin ThomasMarc LeishmanXander Schauffele
2016Patrick ReedRory McIlroyDustin JohnsonRory McIlroy
2015Jason DayRickie FowlerJason DayJordan Spieth
2014Hunter MahanChris KirkBilly HorschelBilly Horschel
2013Adam ScottHenrik StensonZach JohnsonHenrik Stenson
2012Nick WatneyRory McIlroyRory McIlroyBrandt Snedeker
2011Dustin JohnsonWebb SimpsonJustin RoseBill Haas
2010Matt KucharCharley HoffmanDustin JohnsonJim Furyk
2009Heath SlocumSteve StrickerTiger WoodsPhil Mickelson
2008Vijay SinghVijay SinghCamilo VillegasCamilo Villegas
2007Steve StrickerPhil MickelsonTiger WoodsTiger Woods

How Much Do The Players Win In The FedEx Cup

From 2019, the player with the most points after the Tour Championship wins the FedEx Cup itself and receives $15 million of a $70 million bonus fund.

  1. Winner $15 million
  2. Runner-up $5 million
  3. 3rd place $4 million
  4. 4th place $3 million
  5. 5th place $2.5 million
  6. $1.9 million
  7. $1.3 million
  8. $1.1 million
  9. $950,000
  10. $830,000
  11. $750,000
  12. $705,000
  13. $660,000
  14. $620,000
  15. $595,000
  16. $570,000
  17. $550,000
  18. $535,000
  19. $520,000
  20. $505,000
  21. $490,000
  22. $478,000
  23. $466,000
  24. $456,000
  25. $445,000
  26. $435,000
  27. $425,000
  28. $415,000
  29. $405,000
  30. $395,000

Five Year PGA Tour Exemption

The winner of the FedEx Cup also receives a five-year exemption on the PGA Tour, mirroring the exemption that was given to the tour’s leading money winner prior to 2017.

Before the change in format in 2019 that made it impossible for the FedEx Cup and the Tour Championship to be won by two different players, the Tour Championship winner received a three-year exemption. Winners of other playoff events receive only the standard 2-year exemption.

Since 2013 the top 125 on the FedEx Cup points list also retain their tour cards for the following season

Beginning with the 2013 season, non-exempt players who finish 126th-150th in the FedEx Cup are given conditional PGA Tour status, but can attempt to improve their priority rankings through the Korn Ferry Tour Finals.